Datefail 2009


Probably one of the the worst dates ever. I decided to give a co-worker a second chance at a date after he decided to tell me “I’ve always wanted to try it with a man”. Needless to say, I initially broke off the date. He apologized, and I figured he’d be OK since I DO know where he works. So, Friday night rolls arund and I’m looking better than my normal jeans and hoodies, he took me to a crowded bar in my neighborhood. We sat at the bar for some drinks to chat after dinner. The bar was busy and noisy and small, so we had to almost shout to each other to have a conversation. He started off asking me if I was ready to meet his friends. Normally, my complaint is that guys DON’T wan us to have anything to do with their friends – you know shame and all that. He was excited that I would really be able to “fool them” and they’d “never guess I had a cock”. I looked at him blankly and he said it LOUDER (I guess he thought i didn’t hear it the first time). I shrugged hoping he’d get the hint. Then he asked “what’s your REAL name.. when you were a guy?” At this point I knew the people around me had heard, their expressions changed and they looked at each other and started to laugh, then they really LOOKED at me. I excused myself and went to the bathroom to try to calm down (I also wondered if I could fit through the tiny window in the bathroom and escape all together).

When I came out my date wasn’t in our seats, and someone had taken them. I looked around and he was at a table with three girls. I saw him collecting some pieces of paper from two of them. I walked up and smiled and pointed out that out seats were gone. He smiled, put the papers in hs pocket, gave me that “guy punch” in the upper arm and said “Hey man, you how it goes you ready?”

I turned to the table of women and said “Good luck… he’s all yours”. Then I promptly left. The absolute worst part was him calling a this morning like nothing happened, he had no idea why I was pissed and didn’t want to go out again.  I figured that him being a coworker would have made things safer and he wouldn’t have been a total ass. We actually had a very cool kinda flirty work relationship. Our departments work closely and it’s not like me being trans or his asking me out was a secret at work. I honestly thought that since the guys at work knew he asked me, an openly trans woman, out that he was worth the second chance and could have been at least a fun evening out. Guess not.

~ by laughriotgirl on September 19, 2009.

7 Responses to “Datefail 2009”

  1. What a cretin! That’s too bad your date went so poorly but hopefully you can get something out of it anyway, even if it isn’t what you wanted.

  2. Oh my God, what an asshole! I just … can’t understand how he could’ve thought that was acceptable behavior!

  3. ugh.

  4. It was very generous of you to give a second chance to someone that I think didn’t deserve a second chance and then went on to prove why he didn’t. Some guys just don’t know how to treat a lady. I’m sorry that you had to experience such a self-centred unfeeling person.

  5. Thanks Jim. It’s good to know that some guys “get it” 🙂

  6. It’s stories like these that make me wish we could find a cure for androphilia in women… I mean, my natural immunity doesn’t seem to be transmissible.

Leave a Reply

 
