House Passed Health Care Reform


The US House passed the Heath Care Reform Bill Saturday. I don’t want to discuss the merits of the bill, because that debate has been done to death on both sides. The simple fact is, it has passed. However, it passed with two exceptions. The Stupak-Pitts Amendment was added to the final version of the bill . You will, I guarantee, hear about how it limits the coverage for abortion – going so far as to provides stipulations on how private insurance can cover abortions.

What you won’t hear about is the other restriction, the new “Universal Health Care” bill will not cover transition-related costs. The language of the exception is essentially the same language used by Anthem (my insurance provider through work) to deny claims. It will not cover procedures related to transition, or the result of transition. How does this play out?

I transition, I pay for my hormones and surgeries out of pocket. 20 years from now I get breast cancer – guess who won’t cover that “transition-related expense”. That’s just one of the obvious. Here is one less clear. A few weeks ago I went to my doctor because I had a respiratory infection. I knew what I had, but needed the doctor to sign off so I could get the sick time approved. The very first thing my doctor whated to check out was my breasts. You see, according to him, silicone implants could have been causing my tightness and cough (and fever?). Actually they couldn’t, but he was so sure that something transition-related cause what amounted to a bad cold. (Nevermind the fact that I don’t have implants). Had my doctor been able to blame “fake tranny tits” on this, and say it turned out to be the start of Pneumonia since my breasts are a direct result of my transition, I’d have to pay out of pocket for that care.

This is now the standard – thanks to the Republicans. The party who argued against putting the government between a person and their doctor – did JUST THAT. They used their morality to insert the government between my informed consent and my Dr’s ability to provide care. So, fuck the Republicans.

~ by laughriotgirl on November 8, 2009.

4 Responses to “House Passed Health Care Reform”

  1. Oh joy!(sarcasm)

    • Well, it’s what happens when one group’s needs are seen as more valid/important than other group’s needs. I’d like to say I’m surprised.

      • We’d all like to say we’re surprised, but then again, what do we expect from professional bullshitters?

  2. Well, the health care reform was gutted from the start. It started out a something I could fully support and quickly “bi-partisaned” into something the seems to be pretty good if you are an insurance company.

    The Conservative shopped and adopted anti-abortion and anti-transition bits only reinforce my lack of excitement in any political option.

Leave a Reply

 
